Some More Thoughts On a Small World

This is our neighbor Johnny and his father shopping for a new drill at B & Q. I was eager to inform them that there was a Ryobi plant in Anderson and that components of those tools may have been made there (but were actually probably made in China). There is, I suppose some slim chance that some of my own grandfather's engineering went in to the tools designs or the designs of their forerunners.

This cannon ball was salvaged from the wreckage of a Spanish Armada ship off the north coast of the island. Given the Spanish history of my own last name, and the history of Scots-Irish Presbyterians in the upcountry of Tennessee and the Carolinas, I couldn't help but be struck by the idea that one of my ancestors could have been firing this at one of my ancestors. Thank God they missed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment